Interview with Owen Daniels

16 11 2009

Okay, so it wasn’t exactly an interview, but hey, I had a conversation with an NFL player. And quite a good one to say the least. Owen Daniels was the leading fantasy TE before he tore his ACL two weeks ago [because obviously fantasy is the best way to evaluate talent].

Let me start from the beginning. This weekend I attended the Michigan-Wisconsin football game in Madison. Owen Daniels, who went to Wisconsin was also at the game I guess because the Texans had a bye [oh and his ACL was shredded to pieces]. So Saturday night my friends and I went to a bar called Kollege Klub, a local hot spot for the athletes after gameday. So we saw a bunch of the 1999 Rose Bowl champs who were also at the game being honored [for winning something I suppose] in addition to a few current players. I wasn’t exactly star struck though, I’ve seen my share of college football players around the bar [I mean, what else are Michigan players going to do after getting their asses beat week after week]. But there was a rumor that Daniels was at the bar, and as a member of my fantasy team and a pretty sweet TE we were very interested in catching a glimpse.

So with a picture of said TE on my iPhone ready to make the ID, one of my friends went up to a guy who kind of looked like him [he didn’t look like him] and asked if he was Owen Daniels. He said no [duh?]. About an hour passed with no sightings and we started to assume that it was just a rumor that he was there. I’m not saying we were searching high and low dying to see the guy, but it wasn’t a very big bar and no one claimed to have seen him.

That was just about when someone came up to us and said Owen Daniels was in the other room. So we walked on over to see if we could confirm it was him and believe it or not it was! [Well obviously it was, the title of the post is interview with Owen Daniels. Just pretend that you’re surprised and we can move on].

Daniels was talking to some people and the four of us were standing there wondering what to do. Then one of my friends shouted “Owen!” and he turned around. Not only did he just turn around, but he came over to talk to us. Here’s how it went down:

-Owen said hello and went around and “clinked” [?] drinks with each of us congratulating the Badgers on a win.

-I respectfully rejected the “clink” claiming that I was a Michigan fan.

-Some friendly banter between the group transpired about how Wisco beat us bad, some jabs at Michigan, etc.

We asked Owen about his knee. “Owen you killed my fantasy team, how’s your knee feeling?”

-He replied “It’s pretty fucked up.”

-We asked him about running back Steve Slaton and why he’s sucked all year. “He just can’t hold on to the ball,” Daniels replied

-I then proceeded to talk some serious shit about my NY Jets. Needless to say, it was Saturday night and the whole group [Owen included] were slightly inebriated. So I don’t exactly remember what I said, but it was along the lines of me being a Jet’s fan and how they’re better than the Texans.

-“What are they, like 3-5?” said Owen mockingly. [They were 4-4, let the record show I corrected him].

-He then talked about how he’s boys with Jet’s safety Jim Leonard, since they played together at Wisconsin.

-The discussion died down, we thanked him for talking to us and wished him luck with his leg.

There was definitely some other stuff that we said, how he’s the man, how it sucks that he got hurt and some other things that I can’t remember. It was quite the natural conversation, so natural that at some point I rested my elbow on his shoulder as if we were “pals.” Needless to say, my friends ragged on me for taking it off mid-conversation as if I were subconsciously saying “I probably shouldn’t be resting my elbow on this guy’s shoulder.” [I shouldn’t have]

We were obviously so pumped that we talked to an NFL star for so long and made sure to tell everyone in the bar. Then night went on and it was about closing time before I got in my last jab at Mr. Daniels.

“Just make sure you lock up the division, because my Jets are taking the Wild Card”

Owen smiled and said “no chance”

Unfortunately he was right. Nevertheless it was a great night.

Actions

Information

One response

19 11 2009
Mark

You could have least offered him a beer!

Leave a Reply

